Milton Browne

There has never been a comedian as whimsical as Milton Browne, which is why his jokes are utterly hilarious but impossible to remember. His line in a blinking face of utter confusion, followed by an utterly unpredictable joke that absolutely no one else in the universe could possibly have thought up

Published by joannaelonabuckle

I am a travel writer, blogger, and former English teacher and IELTS examiner from the UK. Having travelled very extensively in the course of my career, and lived overseas for most of my adult life, I have a deep interest in intercultural communication, language learning, feminist theory, and cultural anthropology. I also write poetry and short stories. I have a Masters’ Degree in English Language Teaching (applied linguistics) from The University of Reading, England, and am currently preparing a proposal for a PhD in linguistics.  I will shortly be published in the May edition of 'English Teaching Professional' magazine with the article 'How to Prepare Middle-Eastern Students for the IELTS Exam.' More samples of my writing may be found at: https://joannabuckletravel.blogspot.com/2020/09/staying-in-central-stockholm.html https://unpopularpopularopinions.blogspot.com/2019/10/violence-against-women-in-indian.html I have studied amateur photography, and samples of my work may be found throughout my blogs. I have taught in higher education for five years, and have nine years teaching experience in total. I am very familiar with Chinese and Middle-Eastern learners, and their cultural norms and specific language difficulties, as, apart from living and working in the UAE for nine years, I have taken the time to learn Mandarin Chinese and Arabic to some extent, and have studied intercultural communication. I also speak French, and am a beginner in the Greek, Italian, and Spanish languages. I am from Wales, and have some knowledge of the Welsh language, along with a fascination for the Celtic and Nordic cultures, which also inspire my writing. I have lived in East Asia for many years, and gained a lot of perspective on the religious beliefs, art forms, and cultural norms of this region, in particular the countries of Taiwan, China, Thailand, and Malaysia. I am just as familiar with Middle-Eastern cultures, having lived in the United Arab Emirates for nine years, and visited Oman and Egypt many times. A recent stay in India has inspired a lot of my blogging this year, and may give me a lot more ideas in the near future! I hope you enjoy reading my blogs! Joanna Buckle (Joanna Salem)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started